Rabun Teachers of the Year honored

  • Crane

TIGER— Rabun County Schools Teachers of the Year have been chosen for the 2020-2021 School Year and four teachers represent each of the county schools.

Lynn Talley from Rabun County Primary School (RCPS), Jaimie Crane from Rabun County Elementary School (RCES), Kaye Collins from Rabun County Middle School (RCMS) and Alicia McCracken from Rabun County High School (RCHS) were each chosen for their respective schools.  

Crane was also selected as the Teacher of the Year for the Rabun County School System.

Teachers of the Year are chosen in advance because of the lengthy process to identify a state and national winner from the original pool of candidates.

“Teacher of the Year is an accomplishment that starts at the school level,” said Kelly McKay, assistant superintendent for Rabun County Schools, in an email Tuesday. “Winners then advance to the system level. System winners compete at the state level, and then there is a national level winner that all 50 state winners advance to,” McKay said.

McKay said that Crane will begin working on the application process to compete at the state level. The state and national winners are selected later in the school year for further judging.

All four teachers were interviewed at the Rabun County Board of Education last Friday.

To read the full story, click here

Click here to subscribe and view the E-Edition of The Clayton Tribune

Headlines in The Clayton Tribune